Our Ministers

Responsible Ministers

  • Hon Christopher Bishop – Minister of Housing
  • Hon Nicola Willis – Minister of Finance

Associate Ministers

  • Hon Tama Potaka – Associate Minister of Housing (Social Housing)

Our Board

The Board has wide-ranging responsibilities, including setting the organisation's strategic direction and annual performance expectations (in conjunction with the Minister), managing risk and ensuring compliance, and maintaining appropriate relationships with key stakeholders.

Our Board members are:

John Duncan (Acting Chair) has extensive experience in global capital markets, banking and finance. He is a Deputy Chair of the Public Trust, Chair of the Northern Rescue Helicopter Limited, Trustee of Auckland’s Cornwall Park, and a former Housing New Zealand Board member and Chair of HLC.

Robin Hapi (CNZM) has significant governance experience across not-for-profit organisations and commercial and tertiary entities. Robin has expertise in management, financial management, dispute resolution and strategic planning, and maintains a wide national network of Māori and non-Māori individuals and organisations. He was chair of ‘Māori Economic Development Advisory Board’ and is chair ‘Te Wānanga o Raukawa’.  Robin has just finished his term as a member of the Worksafe NZ Board. 

Distinguished Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman (CNZM, QSO, RSNZ) has a background in public health, with a focus on housing, energy, climate change and sustainable cities. She is co-director of He Kāinga Oranga/Housing and Health Research Programme, awarded the PM’s Science Prize, the RSNZ Rutherford Medal and designated the WHO Collaborating Centre on Housing and Wellbeing. She is the director of the NZ Centre for Sustainable Cities and chaired the WHO Housing and health guidelines and the International Science Council Committee on Urban Health and Wellbeing: a systems approach. Philippa joined the Housing NZ Board in 2018.

Major Campbell Roberts (CNZM) has held senior leadership roles within The Salvation Army and New Zealand Community Organisations involved in housing and poverty alleviation. He is a member of the New Zealand Parole Board and the Salvation Army Social Housing Board.  He has worked in housing on the Boards of CHRANZ, KiwiBuy Coalition, Community Housing Aotearoa, New Zealand Housing Foundation, Community Finance and Habitat for Humanity. He has also participated in the Ministerial Shareholders’ Housing Advisory Group, the Prime Ministerial Task Force on Housing Reform, the Ministry of Social Development Housing Reference Group, and as a housing expert in the Children’s Commissioner’s Expert Advisory Group on Solutions to Child Poverty.

John Bridgman (appointed to the Board effective 1 January 2022) has significant experience in engineering and project management roles across Australasia and Asia. John has held a variety of senior leadership positions and governance roles, including at global infrastructure building company AECOM (as Industry Director – Civil Infrastructure in Australia and as Managing Director for the New Zealand business), as well as governance roles on major infrastructure projects in New Zealand, Australia, Asia and the United Kingdom. John is the Chair of the City Rail Link Limited; and Director of Waka Kotahi – NZ Transport Agency.

Sir John Hansen (appointed to the Board effective 15 August 2022) has had a distinguished law career spanning over 30 years, across New Zealand and Hong Kong.  After retiring from the bench in 2008, he undertook a number of significant community-focused roles such as chairing the independent panel for the new Christchurch District Plan, heading the Red Cross's Earthquake Appeal Commission following the 2010 Christchurch earthquake, and being on the Bone Marrow Cancer Trust. John has been involved with cricket all his life, and is currently a member of Canterbury Cricket Trust.

Nicole Anderson (appointed to the Board effective 1 January 2023) is a chartered professional director (CMInstD) with a background in financial management and business development.  Nicole is currently Director of Top Energy, Northland Inc, Scion and Chair of the International Accreditation Council (IANZ).  Nicole is passionate about whānau ora and community development.

Our Leadership Team

Kāinga Ora’s Leadership Team works collectively to successfully deliver on Kāinga Ora’s objectives and goals.

Meet the LeadershipTeam

Chief Executive: Andrew McKenzie

DCE Auckland and Northland: Caroline Butterworth

  • Regional Director Counties Manukau: Angela Pearce
  • Regional Director Central and East: John Tubberty
  • Regional Director Northland: Jeff Murray
  • Regional Director North and West: Taina Jones

DCE Central: Daniel Soughtton

  • Regional Director Waikato: Mark Rawson
  • Regional Director Taranaki, Manawatu and Whanganui: Graeme Broderick
  • Regional Director Wellington and Kapiti: Vicki McLaren
  • Regional Director Bay of Plenty: Darren Toy
  • Regional Director East North Island: Naomi Whitewood

DCE South Island: Paul Commons

  • Regional Director Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast: Julia Campbell
  • Regional Director Otago and Southland: Kerrie Young
  • Regional Director Canterbury: Liz Krause

Ringa Raupā DCE Māori: Te Ariki Pihama

General Manager Strategy, Finance and Policy: Gareth Stiven

General Manager National Services: Nick Maling

General Manager Urban Planning and Design: Katja Lietz

General Manager Urban Development and Delivery: Mark Fraser

General Manager Construction and Innovation: Patrick Dougherty

General Manager Commercial: Caroline McDowall

General Manager Delivery Transformation: Matthew Hulett

General Manager People, Governance and Capability: Rowan Macrae

Deputy Chief Executive - Sector Engagement Central: Greg Groufsky

Page updated: 6 March 2024