Our Ministers

Responsible Ministers

  • Hon Dr Megan Woods – Minister of Housing
  • Hon Grant Robertson – Minister of Finance

Associate Ministers

  • Hon Poto Williams – Associate Minister of Housing (Public Housing)
  • Hon Peeni Henare – Associate Minister of Housing (Māori Housing)
  • Hon Marama Davidson - Associate Minister of Housing (Homelessness)

Our Board

The Board has wide-ranging responsibilities, including setting the organisation’s strategic direction and annual performance expectations (in conjunction with the Minister), managing risk and ensuring compliance, and maintaining appropriate relationships with key stakeholders.

Our Board members are:

Vui Mark Gosche (Chair) was a Member of Parliament from 1996 to 2008 and held several Cabinet posts, including Minister of Housing. He is the Chairperson of Counties Manukau DHB and an elected member of the Mt Wellington Licensing Trust.  He was the Chair of Housing New Zealand until 30 September 2019. 



John Duncan (Deputy Chair) has extensive management experience and experience in global financial markets, including banking and risk management. He is a Deputy Chair of Public Trust and an advisor to Auckland City Council on funding, risk management, balance sheet and capital issues.  He is a member of the DIA Governance Board overseeing the Three Waters Reform Programme, and a former Housing New Zealand Board member and Chair of HLC.


Ngarimu Blair has strong Māori governance experience including leading the restructuring of the Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Group into a modern post-settlement governance entity in 2012. He is presently a director on Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Rawa Ltd, a large property company responsible for the protection and growth of the tribe's commercial assets. He is the Co-Chair of the Tamaki Makaurau Mana Whenua Forum, a Director on Manaaki Whenua and the Blake Trust.


Robin Hapi CNZM is Chair of the Māori Economic Development Advisory Board and Chair of Te Wānanga-o-Raukawa. He has significant governance experience across not-for-profit organisations, commercial and tertiary entities. Robin has expertise in management, financial management, dispute resolution, and strategic planning and maintains a wide national network of Māori and non-Māori individuals and organisations. He was also a Housing New Zealand Branch Manager for Porirua in the late 1980s. 

Distinguished Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman CNZM, QSO, RSNZ, University of Otago, Wellington has a background in public health and focuses on housing, energy, climate change and sustainable cities. She is co-director on He Kāinga Oranga/Housing and Health Research Programme and the NZ Centre for Sustainable Cities. She chaired the WHO Housing and Health International Guidelines Group and was a member of the Independent Housing Stocktake Group.  She joined the Housing New Zealand Board in 2018.  

Penelope (Penny) Hulse (MNZM) has significant experience in local government growth and planning including many years involved in developing the Auckland Unitary Plan. Penny has 27 years of governance experience, with much of her last nine years on Auckland Council including the role of Deputy Mayor from 2010 to 2016. 



Victoria Kingi (nee Carroll) is the Managing Director of Papakainga Solutions Limited. She has a strong RMA legal background and strategic governance expertise with a good understanding of regulatory frameworks. She has served on several governance boards and provided strategic advice to local, regional and central government on their planning, policy and strategic documents.



Major Campbell Roberts (CNZM) has held senior leadership roles within The Salvation Army Te Ope Whakaora. He is a member of the New Zealand Parole Board, and a director of Utilities Disputes – Tautohetohe Whaipainga and Community Finance.  He was previously a member of the governing boards of the Salvation Army, Housing Foundation, Habitat for Humanity, KiwiBuy and the Mangere Housing Community Regeneration Board. A trusted national advisor on housing issues, his engagements include the Ministerial Shareholders’ Housing Advisory Group, the Prime Ministerial Task Force on Housing Reform, the Ministry of Social Development Housing Reference Group, the Children’s Commissioner’s Expert Advisory Group on Solutions to Child Poverty, and the BRANZ working group on medium-density housing.

John Bridgman has had significant experience in engineering and project management roles for over 35 years, across Australasia and Asia.

He is Chief Executive of Ōtākaro Limited, a Government entity delivering Crown-led anchor projects in Christchurch. John has held a variety of senior leadership positions and governance roles including at global infrastructure building company AECOM (as Industry Director – Civil Infrastructure in Australia and as Managing Director for the New Zealand business), as well as governance roles on major infrastructure projects in New Zealand, Australia, Asia and the United Kingdom. He is also a director of  Waka Kotahi – NZ Transport Agency.

Our Leadership Team

Kāinga Ora’s Leadership Team works collectively to successfully deliver on Kāinga Ora’s objectives and goals.

Meet the LeadershipTeam

Chief Executive: Andrew McKenzie

DCE Auckland & Northland: Caroline Butterworth

  • Regional Director Counties Manukau: Angela Pearce
  • Regional Director Central & East: John Tubberty
  • Regional Director Northland: Jeff Murray
  • Regional Director North & West: Taina Jones

DCE Central: Daniel Soughtton

  • Regional Director Waikato: Mark Rawson
  • Regional Director Taranaki, Manawatu & Whanganui: Graeme Broderick
  • Regional Director Wellington & Kapiti: Greg Groufsky
  • Regional Director Bay of Plenty: Darren Toy
  • Regional Director East North Island: Naomi Whitewood

DCE South Island: Paul Commons

  • Regional Director Nelson, Marborough & West Coast: Julia Campbell
  • Regional Director Otago & Southland: Kerrie Young
  • Regional Director Canterbury: Liz Krause

Ring Raupa DCE Māori: Te Ariki Pihama

General Manager Strategy, Finance & Policy: Gareth Stiven

General Manager National Services: Nick Maling

General Manager Urban Planning & Design: Katja Lietz

General Manager Urban Development & Delivery: Mark Fraser

General Manager Construction & Innovation: Patrick Dougherty

General Manager Commercial: Caroline McDowall

General Manager People, Governance & Capability: Rowan Macrae

Page updated: 1 February 2022